Aboout Us | Upcoming Events | Race Results | Members | Merchandise | Photos | Sponsors | Home

What is a Waikiki BeachBoy?
The original Waikiki beachboys were water sports instructors who worked on the beaches fronting the Royal Hawaiian and Moana Hotels from the 1920's to the late 1950's. These beachboys taught the wealthy visitors who traveled to Hawaii how to surf, catch waves in an outrigger canoe, and enjoy the Hawaiian culture. Because these tourists usually vacationed in Hawaii for long periods of time, the beachboys developed close friendships with their patrons. The beachboys were known for their charm and their love of Hawaii, which they instilled in the tourists they befriended. As a result, the beachboys became a symbol of Aloha, and helped to draw tourists to the islands.

As air travel made access to Hawaii more affordable, more tourists began visiting the islands, and stayed for shorter periods of time. These changes to the tourism industry affected the relationships the beachboys were able to cultivate with tourists. Today, Waikiki beachboys still work the beaches with concession stands, surfing lessons and canoe surfing rides. Taking over where the original beachboys left off, this new generation of watermen exposes tourists to the Hawaiian culture and spreads Aloha to all who visit Waikiki.

The Formation and History of the Waikiki Beachboys Canoe Club
The Waikiki Beachboys Canoe Club (WBBCC) was formed in 1973 by a group of beachboys who belonged to other paddling canoe clubs. This group of beachboys decided to form their own club in order to be free of the “paddling politics” and traditions established by the other canoe clubs. This group also wanted to promote the image of the original Waikiki beachboys, which was of men who respected the ocean and mastered the skills of surfing and outrigger canoe paddling, while spreading the Aloha spirit of Hawaii.

The original founders of WBBCC were: Kimo Makua, Ted Bush, Bob Nagatani and Moku Kamaka. These beachboys walked up and down Waikiki beach, collecting $25 from friends and tourists to help finance a canoe for the club. Each person who donated money was deemed an honorary member of the club, and received a certificate from WBBCC. The first canoe purchased with this donated money was blessed in 1974 by the Reverend Abraham Akaka and named the Kai Kane. Soon to follow were the Kai O Wahine and the Kai O Keiki in 1975, the Kai O Kapoe in 1976 and the Malolo II in 1978, all fiberglass, malia molds. The WBBCC's Koa wood canoe was created in 1980 by Ray Bumatay and Alec Apo and named the Kamoho Ali'i. WBBCC also acquired two Hawaiian Racers, the Ana Koa in 1983 and the Kalele O Nalani in 1984. The most recent purchases were the two Bradley canoes, the Kahu Moku Kamaka and the Kai Pi'i.

In the mid 1970's, WBBCC began sponsoring the WBBCC Invitational race, a long distance pre-season race. Today, the race, which consists of a triangle course from Magic Island to Diamond Head Buoy, is the most popular pre-season race and attracts over 100 crews from all over the Islands.

In 1979, WBBCC created and hosted the WBBCC Waikiki Invitational Regatta. Added as an unofficial race during the Hui Wa'a regatta season, this sprint in and out of the surf in Waikiki is a popular event. Due to the limited lane space, crews must qualify for an invitation to the race by placing in the prior regatta races. WBBCC has hosted this event continuously since 1979, canceling only twice due to high surf conditions.

In 1995, WBBCC created and promoted the WBBCC's Choose Your Weapon Race. In contrast to other WBBCC races, the Choose Your Weapon Race consisted of a downwind course from Hawaii Kai to Waikiki with participants competing on paddleboards, surf skis or one-man canoes. In 1999, 6-man canoes were added to the race, and over 300 people participated in the event. WBBCC continues to promote the image of the original Waikiki beachboys and the spirit of Aloha through its paddling events and members. A number of the men's open crew are currently employed as lifeguards, who patrol the beaches of Hawaii, making the waters safe and enjoyable for residents and tourists.

WBBCC's first long distance crew and coach:
Ted Bush, Ben Garces, Kimo Makua, Aki Akiyama, Mel Mau, Mel Pauole, Ricky Lam, Herman Koa, Steve Elliot, Grant Glissold, David Petersen, George Waikoloa. Coach: Moku Kamaka, with assistance by Ray Bumatay, Bob Nagatani and Pete Adams.

Past Presidents of WBBCC:
Polo Simeona, Alex Apo (longest term), David Kalu, Billy Kamaka, Blackie Kalua, Kuumomi Ho, Derrick Uyema, and Dolan Eversole

Other Officers of WBBCC:
Carol Torgerson-Kuahulu, Ginette Huddy, Ted Bush, Linda Liese, Rae Kamaka, Cindy Summers, Neil Peltier, Jo Clark, Mimi Donnelly, Sandi Beauregard, Tom Allen, Kevin Allen, Ian Forester, Cory Beall, Joanna Stark, Malia Eversole, Trevor Orr, Guy Pere and Kirsten Smith

Coaches of WBBCC:
Moku Kamaka, Alex Apo, Dukie Kuahulu, James Koko, Blackie Kalua, Moana Huddy, Kimo Makua, Blue Makua Sr., Ginette Huddy, Bob Nagatani, Keith Keillor, Donna Aukai, Frenchy Luttgau, Ted Bush, Junior Kaai, Derrick Uyema, Neil Peltier, Gail Tomita, Billy Reese, Kalani Coito, Kuumomi Ho, Ed Whaley, Paul Merino, Ronald Lopes, Kala Judd, Ian Forester, Tom Allen, Trevor Orr, Guy Pere, Eric Chun, Cory Beall, Darryl Hara, Tom Damon, Jennifer Bossert , Meredith Takaraand Sean Monahan.

Links | Contact Us

©1999 Netwunders